Skip to content

. . . And I just can’t wait to get on the road again

December 28, 2010

“For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,” Matt 25:35 NIV

I do a lot of traveling for FCNL. And I enjoy it. I like being on the road, exploring unfamiliar streets and businesses. I like driving alone and being able to sing whatever I want as loud as I want. But mostly, I love traveling for FCNL because of the people. Which is odd. I’m not really a “people person” and I tend to prefer being solo, but FCNL supporters have been incredibly warm, welcoming and kind to me.

When I’m planning a trip, I always start out worrying where I’m going to stay and when and what I’m going to eat, and how I’m going to navigate unfamiliar territory. Each time, I find that I’m well cared for -not lost and alone. I also worry, each time, that I’ll be speaking to an empty room, or that I will have picked the wrong places to go, or that no one will hear me, and, each time, people show up and are interested and interesting. I have great conversations. While I’m often relaying the same information on each stop, I don’t feel that I’m repeating myself because of the people. Working with Friends has been a learning opportunity because of the emphasis on listening. Half the trip is just listening to people, about the things they and their community are concerned about.

People also have surprised me with  their responsiveness. I was speaking to a group in Reading, PA and mentioned that one of the goals of ONCB right now was to push for conversations about the Pentagon Budget in local media, and that if they had a relationship with the editorial board of their newspaper, they should exert their influence. The first thing next morning, I was surprised to hear my host say that if I could be ready in 10 minutes, I could get an hour interview on BCTV, a local Reading tv station!

Traditionally, Thanksgiving is the time to reflect on what you’re grateful for, Christmas to reflect on family and the birth of Christ, and the New Year to reflect on what you’d like to do better. This New Year, I can’t help but do all three, to look back and see how people have carried me, and lifted me up and to be incredibly grateful for that and want to find some way to do More. Bless you all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

