Skip to content

My first two weeks at FCNL!

August 13, 2010

What an exciting two weeks it has been!  My life at my family’s home in Pittsburgh was slow and happy, and my life in Washington with FCNL is fast… and also happy!  I’m still transitioning to life in the nation’s capital (I miss my dog!) but much of my anxiety of two weeks ago has been replaced with enthusiasm and anticipation for my year at FCNL.   If these two weeks are any indication, it’s going to be a great year.

Here’s some of what I’m looking forward to:

  • Learning!  Everyday at FCNL lengthens the list of things that I don’t know and want to learn more about.  Today’s list: how Congress really works, how FCNL’s General Committee really works, what Quaker young adults believe, what are the best strategies for communicating electronically with FCNL’s constituencies, which organizations and people are FCNL’s most valuable allies in Washington, and how to make FCNL’s website as accessible and efficient as possible.  I am looking forward to a day here when I have more answers than questions but for now I am feeling grateful for all these opportunities.
  • Community! My co-workers are fun, interesting people who are good at their jobs and happy to answer my questions!  I look forward to getting to know them this year.  The rest of my intern class start at the beginning of September and I’m also excited to meet them and begin the year together.
  • Faith! I went to Earlham College and there had the opportunity to learn about Quakerism.  Unitarian Universalism is my tradition of choice and has been since I was a child, but I have a lot to learn from Friends about life, love, God, and justice.
  • Activism! I’m particularly interested in issues of immigration, race, socio-economics, and urban development but I am grateful to work at an organization whose politics and the philosophy I can support in their entirety.  FCNL does such important work and I am glad I get to be part of it, and I’m very glad my position is one where I get to help you be a part of it as well!

And you? What are your goals for FCNL’s year ahead? By now you must think that I am enthusiastic about lots of things (you would be right), but as the Communications Program Assistant I also am looking forward to hearing from you and working with you this year.  Please don’t hesitate to be in touch.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

