Skip to content

Where have all the interns gone?

July 23, 2010

Well, nowhere yet…. But many of us are heading off for new adventures come the end of this month.

Remember what a very snowy 2nd St looked like?!

With the current temperatures here in DC reaching record highs of 90-100 degrees on a regular basis it’s hard to believe that our time here at FCNL also included experiencing DC’s record-breaking ‘snowpocolypse.’ We were also here for many other exciting events including a visit by Juanes to FCNL, an opportunity to attend an official welcoming ceremony at the White House, war protests and an immigration march on Washington, and chances to travel all over the country and meet people interested in FCNL’s work – from Ohio to Colorado, North Carolina to Missouri.

As usual, I’ve lost track of time a bit and am finding it hard to believe that my internship here at FCNL is coming to a close at the end of this month. Since September all of us interns have learned a great deal about working in Washington and have certainly had the opportunity to work here during an exciting time. We have been able to work on issues ranging from calling for comprehensive immigration reform, to working towards an exit strategy for the war in Afghanistan, to lobbying on comprehensive health insurance reforms that included improvements to coverage for Native American Indians and Alaska Natives, working on gaining support for the CLEAR Act, the START treaty, and re-balancing our Nation’s Checkbook.

Here are some updates from all of us about where we’re heading next:

Katrina Schwartz writes:
I am moving back to the West Coast after 6 years of East Coast living to be closer to my family and to the beautiful Pacific Ocean. I am excited to be closer to be back in a place where the outdoors is more easily a part of my daily life and where the produce is great year round! I do not yet know what I will be doing there, but I am looking into jobs working for the City of San Francisco in their Energy program, as well as environmental education and sustainable business. That’s a broad range of ideas, I know, but it’s an exciting transition with that hint of adventure that the unknown lends to any decision.

Inez Steigerwald writes:

After coming to FCNL with no background in Native American affairs, I learned spent this past year learning a lot about the issues and legislative struggles. Starting in August I will begin work at a Native-run and Native-oriented contracting firm, in their research and evaluations department. There I will be working with a team to check in on sites around the country and put together reports evaluating public health programs in Indian Country. My dog and I will be staying in DC, and I’ll be working in Silver Spring. I will also be resuming my post as representative to FCNL for my yearly meeting (Northern Yearly Meeting).

Rebecca Sheff writes:
In September, I will be starting an internship in Zimbabwe with a health clinic that provides services for torture survivors.  I will most likely be working to develop income-generating projects with clients, to improve their livelihoods and help restore their sense of wellbeing.  I hope to live in Zimbabwe for at least a year and to seek out additional opportunities to work with human rights and community development organizations during my time there.

Kim MacVaugh writes:
I will remain in Washington, D.C. and begin studies in September towards a Master’s degree in Arab Studies from Georgetown University’s School of Foreign Service. The full time two year program will keep me busy with intensive Arabic language study as well as 12 courses in Middle East politics and peace & conflict studies.  What comes after that is a mystery but will hopefully involve paying off my student loans slowly and traveling back to the region.

Stephen Donahoe writes:
I’ll be staying in DC to attend American University in the fall to study Development Management. I will also be working part-time for Outreach International, an international community development organization. With Outreach International, I will continue to do campaigns and advocacy work, using many of the skills I’ve learned at FCNL.

Matt Southworth writes:
I’m staying on with FCNL but will be transitioning from the WINA person to the foreign policy program assistant. I’ll still be organizing in key districts around the country, organizing Spring Lobby Weekend, working on Afghanistan policy and helping to bring new people in to FCNL’s network. In addition, I’ll be taking on other foreign policy issues such as the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, diplomacy with Iran, continued withdrawal from Iraq and much more. I’m excited to continue learning and growing at FCNL.

Lacey Maurer writes:
I will be staying in DC after FCNL.  I am hoping to find a job in food service or the hospitality industry.  I’m looking forward to continuing to explore the city and take in all DC has to offer.  In the future, my plan is to move home to Los Angeles and hopefully attend graduate school in California.

Lizzie Biddle writes:
After spending a year working at FCNL and energizing Friends from all over the country to get involved with FCNL and to lobby, I’m excited to take my improved skills to Greensboro, North Carolina, where I’ll be living for the next couple of years.  I will be getting involved with the local Friends community as a Youth Group Leader for New Garden Friends Meeting and as an attendee of the local meetings.  I hope to attend North Carolina Yearly Meeting FUM in September, as well as continue to be involved with Young Adult Friends events and you may even see me at Annual Meeting next year!  I plan to use my improved community organizing skills in a non-profit in Greensboro working with the local immigrant and refugee populations.

And as for me, right after the internship ends I’ll be escaping the DC heat in my move up to Providence, RI where I will start a Master’s degree in Public Humanities at Brown University under their American Civilizations Department. I’m excited to start yet another new chapter in a new place. I’m looking forward to exploring new ways of engaging the public in learning about history and realizing connections between the past, present, and future. I’ll miss folks at FCNL, but know that I’m taking away some invaluable skills and a lot of great memories from my time in DC.

We wish the new intern class luck and are sure that they will continue to light up the Of Peace and Politics blog with more exciting news from DC and across the country.

In peace,
~Rachael

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen Putney permalink
    July 23, 2010 7:10 pm

    Perhaps gone but not forgotten…

    I know I speak for Friends across the country in extending our gratitude for your commitment to the greater good through your service with FCNL. We all know an internship with FCNL is not for the faint of heart! You are expected to plunge in on day one and the learning curve…sort of resembles Everest. Your fresh perspective, open heart and rebel energy envigorate and strengthen our work and witness. May you carry these gifts with you into your next adventure.

    Dear Ones, thank you and thank you again.

  2. Alicia permalink
    July 29, 2010 2:23 pm

    Karen, I couldn’t have said it better.

    Those of us who have had the pleasure to work with this year’s class of interns are wondering how we will manage without them!

  3. Bridget Moix permalink
    July 29, 2010 2:43 pm

    Wait!…you mean they’re really leaving?!?!

    Thank you all so much and best of luck in all your adventures ahead. You will of course always remain part of the FCNL family.

  4. sharon hoover permalink
    July 29, 2010 8:26 pm

    Many thanks to all of you. Each year you, and former interns (Bridget Moix, for instance), inspire Friends all over the United States. As a meeting rep for many, many years, I know how much we all depend upon your talent, your work ethic, your morality, and your friendliness to all.

  5. Bob Schultz permalink
    July 30, 2010 4:28 pm

    Many, many thanks to you all for your gifts to FCNL and its/our work! And here’s wishing you “fair winds and following seas” as you sail into new waters for adventures, learning, and service to meet your country’s and the earth’s urgent needs.

    /Bob Schultz
    Port Townsend, WA

  6. Joyce Victor permalink
    July 31, 2010 1:15 am

    Dear Interns,
    I am deeply appreciative of the fine and unique
    contribution each of you have made to the FCNL mission
    and community. Thank you and hopes for your continuing
    committment to this work.
    Joyce Victor
    Vashon,Washington

  7. Russell permalink
    July 31, 2010 5:45 pm

    A lifetime event for these young people, I’m sure, and we shall hear more good things from them as they pursue their careers. We’re 2-time AFS host parents and continue to enjoy that opportunity, andd be influenced by it.

  8. September 23, 2014 6:38 am

    It is usually a good suggestion to spend money on baggage that
    has wheels on the bottom. 2014 bridesmaid dresses are made for ladies bridesmaid dresses 2014 differ from other bridesmaids dresses.
    Function, style, and durability; these are the most common criteria
    we normally use in order to purchase clothing and luggage we take with us on a trip.

Leave a Reply

