Skip to content

We are the ones we’ve been waiting for…

April 12, 2010

“We are the ones we’ve been waiting for…” Believe it or not, this teaching of the Hopi Elders was quoted at my graduation from Guilford College in May ’09 and while there are times that we might feel the problems of the world or our country are too heavy, the truth is, it’s up to us to make the change. Rabbi Falcon of the Interfaith Amigos for Yes! Magazine has written a very interesting article on faith, generosity, and why the world is hurting.

When I was young my parents ‘church shopped’ – a phenomenon that probably occurs more than some might think. Basically what this meant was that we ‘tried on’ different communities until we found the right place for our family, which happened to be the Episcopal church. This wasn’t always easy, and moving certainly complicated things, but I know that at least some of my desire to understand other ways of thinking and beliefs can probably be attributed to the range of communities we ‘tried on for size’ when I was younger. Then in college I was exposed to Quakerism and luckily, much of that matched what I had grown up with – even though I didn’t grow up Quaker. Now at FCNL I so appreciate that I work in an environment where people value differing opinions and seek to write, talk, and affect change in a way that’s beneficial for all.

I point all of this out to say that I can definitely see what Rabbi Falcon meant when he wrote:

“The political polarization in our country reflects this same confusion of ideals and institutions. Instead of a language of caring, we are party to the constant rhetoric of attack: It’s Us versus Them, and We are always right. Out of this polarization comes frustration and anger, helplessness and hopelessness, and a loss of the spiritual awareness that alone can help us escape the Us and Them battles taking place everywhere—in our homes, in our families, in our communities, in our country, among our countries and, perhaps most essentially, within ourselves.”

If you have a few moments, I’d encourage you to read the rest of Rabbi Falcon’s article and then feel free to share ideas here on the blog by posting your comments. After all, if ‘we’re the one’s we’ve been waiting for’ we should probably start/continue the dialogue.

In peace,

~Rachael

One Comment leave one →
  1. joseph p bell permalink
    April 13, 2010 2:24 am

    LET US HOPE THAT THE HOPI NATION WILL COME TO OUR RESCUE ; WE KNOW WHAT WE HAVE DONE TO THE INDIAN NATIONS IN THE PAST ; BUT SOME OF US HAVE ALWAYS KEPT THE FAITH OF THE AMERICAN / NATIVE / INDIANS … WE THANK YOU // I THANK YOU IN THE NAME OF PEACE . YOU HAVE KEPT THE AMERICAN IDEALS ALIVE THRU YOUR OWN SUFFERINGS .. WILL ANYONE NOTICE . I HAVE NO IDEA. JUST AN ASIDE HERE .. WILMA MANKILLER WAS IN BOSTON HOSPITAL A FEW YEARS BACK (BETH ISRAEL ) AND THE GLOBE HAD AN ARTICLE ON HER BEING THE CHIEF OF THE CHEROKEE NATION ; I SENT HER A CARD ,GET WELL . SHE ANSWERED ME MONTHS LATER WHEN THE MAIL FINALLY FOUND HER .SHE HAD JUST LEFT WHEN I MAILED IT .. I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A “WANT TO BE “. SINCE MY CHILDHOOD WITH THE TONTO.. JUST LIKE IWAS RAISED IN THE MOVIES ; ALI BABA AND THE FORTY THIEVES , I JUST FOUND OUT THAT IT WAS FILMED ?IN BAGHDAD , NO WONDER I WANT TO JOIN THE INSURGENTS . THE INDIANS WERE THE FIRST INSURGENTS EVER …

Leave a Reply

